Supported languages

Verify documents in dozens of languages, such as Latin, Cyrillic, hieroglyphic, and many more.

Sumsub supports most of the languages, including Korean, Japanese, Chinese, Cyrillic, and Semitic.

Our OCR engine extracts both local and latin characters from the documents. In addition, we provide a built-in transliteration module that transforms all of the local characters into latin in accordance with the rules stipulated by the country.



  • For Amharic, Bengali, Burmese, Dari, Dhivehi, Hindi, Khmer (Cambodian), Kinyarwanda, Lao, Mongolian, Nepali, Sinhalese, we only accept documents with the latin characters. If the document is submitted with the country-specific characters, a notarized translation must be provided.
  • Arabic, Farsi, and Urdu are available upon request at an additional cost. For more information, contact your Customer Success Manager.